In Tokyo, Magic Does Happen

I had a crazy awesome evening out the other day when my friend’s mother offered to take me and another guy from Georgetown out for dinner. We met at the Grand Hyatt in Roppongi (not too shabby!) before heading to Ganchan, a hole-in-the-wall yakitori restaurant where they let you choose your menu by having you pick out the actual vegetables for your meal. Definitely authentic Japanese food:

7127_270126685402_611050402_9045220_6549871_n

Afterward she took us to, get this, a bar:

We got to meet KiLa

We got to meet KiLa!

It’s called the Magic Bar Issey. They have magicians! They do a magic show, and then, afterward, come up to you individually and do tricks just for you. It was crazy! The guy we met has been on TV several times and even performed in Las Vegas. What these people do is an art, for sure. They have to perform it just so. I have one friend who does card tricks and it’s just insane!!

Anyway, that was a very fun night. People say it a lot, but it definitely is true — in order to really see what Tokyo has to offer, you need to seek out the lesser-known areas, the places only someone “in-the-know” can find. Definitely grateful to my friend’s mom. Nights like this just make me so excited for the rest of the year. Here’s hoping I can get to know Tokyo just as well!

Explore posts in the same categories: Tokyo

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “In Tokyo, Magic Does Happen”

  1. amyymburns Says:

    Aww…I’m so glad you guys had so much fun. I know this is very belated :) I wish I could be there in Japan with you…


Leave a Reply

