And Uni Life Begins

I’ve had a CRAZY few days!!

A couple days ago I left Haruka’s place to go meet my really awesome friend from Kyoto at Tokyo Disney Sea. She was here for 48 hours and in those two days we did SOOO much walking and had a ton of fun.

090911_180334

Disney Sea

090911_185911

Tempura dinner at Disney Sea

Cute_A_L_QVGA~05

Purikura - typical Japanese fun =)

I finally bid her adieu two days before moving into my dorm and spent one day at a random ancient Egyptian exhibit in Yokohama. At night I met up with an old friend in Shimokitazawa for dinner, where we had natto curry (i.e., fermented soy beans – most people really like it or really hate it… and it smells pretty bad):

090913_173141

It tasted good!

Finally on the 14th I made my way to my new dorm after meeting some Waseda students at Shinjuku Station. I met the girl next door to me and we spent the day scrounging around Shibuya for things for our rooms – i.e., bathmats, pillows, mirrors… That sort of thing. Anyway, I was absolutely exhausted that night. So was my room:

090914_171357

Thankfully it doesn’t look like that anymore, but it’s still really, super messy. I really haven’t had any free time at all to do anything. Since I got here it’s been a whirlwind of activity and meeting people and craziness. Last night there was a welcome party for us in our dorm that the main international student circle organized for us, so I was able to meet a bunch of people. At first I was mostly talking to exchange students (from all over the place – France, Australia, Germany… it’s really interesting!). Then, afterward, we all went to a park nearby and I got a chance to speak more with the Japanese students. That was FUN! I made some friends and it’s really made me want to join that group. The key word here is “nomikai”…….

Anyway, I will update with pictures of my room when it is finally decent – which might be awhile – but I am SOO busy. Really, though, I am just loving settling into my new home for the next year. Buying random things like magnets for my fridge, moving the furniture around (not sure if I was supposed to do that)… it’s all really satisfying! I also love that the train station is only a 3 minute walk away, my room has an interesting view, and that I’m in a single room. I can really just come and go as I please. I’m less than 15 minutes away without any train line transfers from Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro and Harajuku, basically all of western Tokyo… it’s pretty awesome.

PS, this is all  because of the new train line, the Fukutoshin line, that was made last year when I was actually in Tokyo — I visited the Shibuya train station the day the line opened, and thank god it did open, because that’s the reason I’m so close to everything! Otherwise I’d be walking 15 minutes to the closest station to get around.

00-nishiwaseda-syaryo151936_PC_M

My little train station

Explore posts in the same categories: Tokyo

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

