Tokyo Restaurant Edition, Pt. 1

So I’ve decided I want to blog about all the awesome food I’ve been eating here!!

I am basically obsessed with eating out, I love restaurants and couldn’t cook a meal to save my life.

That’s why it’s really a good thing that there are so many great eateries here. It’s probably not that good that when I don’t feel like going out I tend to just go to the convenience store and make do with grilled chicken pasta salads or baked cheese cake sticks. But in terms of restaurants, Tokyo is fantastic!!

I’ll start off with a few of my tried-and-true fav places to go for a bite to eat:

Brown Rice Cafe, Omotesando: vegan

Veggie Burger

I love this place in Omotesando. It’s tucked behind a shopfront with lots of European lotions/beauty/health products. I always go here and get their Veggie Burger, absolutely delicious! It can be really hard to find decent all-out vegetarian food in Tokyo but this place is really good. Anyway, at 1500yen for a meal and with drinks around 700yen, it can get pricey – but I love going to this place to unwind, enjoy a nice meal, maybe get some Egyptian homework out of the way. They also have delicious caramel macchiatos.

Kantipur, Shibuya: Nepalese

Delicious (and sublimely unhealthy)

There is a ton of quality Indian food to be found in Tokyo, but this place is my favorite. Hidden away from the street and run by a charmingly eccentric and sarcastic owner, coming here can be intimidating – but so worth it! I usually get the vegetarian curry, although their almond chicken and pumpkin and chicken (when they have it for a lunch special a couple times a month) are also really good. I prefer coming for lunch, although it’s really packed then with salarymen – that’s because you get a salad, curry, and the most delicious (unlimited) naan I’ve ever had, all for 900yen. Seriously, the naan is to die for: it’s buttery and SO GOOD. The waiters constantly come around refilling your plate with piles of it.

Nagi Shokudo, Shibuya: vegan

Hearty and healthy!!

Another delicious vegan option. I really love this place. 1000yen gets you 3 different dishes, miso soup and brown rice along with a drink. It’s never too busy and the atmosphere is lovely, with soothing music. Plus, it’s genuinely healthy and fills you up at the same time! I always get the kara-age veggie meat with chili sauce, avocado and tomato salad with tofu mayo, and pumpkin salad with the red shiso drink for after the meal. Mouth-watering. It’s also pretty hard to find decent avocado dishes in Japan, and this makes me happy every time I come. Incidentally, I was surprised to see that CNN just covered this restaurant on their Tokyo lifestyle site.

one plus one, Takadanobaba: cafe

Chicken Pita

This place is right across the street from me, and a very calm, quaint little cafe with really cheap prices. I get the smoked chicken and burdock pita sandwich whenever I go. It’s filling and only 480yen. Atmosphere is peaceful, and a nice break from the typically ramen-filled streets of Takadanobaba.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tokyo

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Tokyo Restaurant Edition, Pt. 1”

  1. mpebbles Says:

    That looks yummy! Can’t wait to try them.

  2. amyymburns Says:

    Hey you! I just got myself a blog! It’s so f-ing addictive! The food looks so good dear. Especially the Nagi Shokudo place. I will definitely have to go there when I visit next time. Please update soon :)

    • tokyoesque Says:

      Thanks for all the comment-love =)!! we definitely need to go there together!! PLEASEEE come to japan at least once before i leave!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

